Banana, Cacao and Vanilla Vegan Loaf

banana_bread

 

It doesn’t matter how much I say that from a moment in time onwards I’ll post more frequently, life has its own ways and things cannot be predicted. I still post daily on my Instagram feed, as that only requires a photo and a caption and I cook most days. For me personally, taking the time to write down the complete recipe and making it accurate takes that little extra time that I’m not sure I always have.

Things that have been happening to me recently include: a dodgy roof, inclusive of rain inside the house with bowls and buckets all over the floor; studying for an accounting qualification (don’t ask me how that even happened); working full time in an understaffed office; and, this isn’t actually bad, I got into yoga, which I added to my weekly routine. I go to the studio about once or twice a week and still do bodyweight and dumbbell training at home to strengthen my upper back and arms.

I surrendered to the roof problem because I realised it’s a first world issue. There’s running water (got the pun?) , electricity, a safe bed and food on the table. Like, what am I even complaining about? It does take energy away from other tasks but I have been through worse situations in my life and I’m just going with it now until it is sorted properly.

As I’m also getting towards the end of the level 2 qualification (might do level 3 afterwards) I decided to just take it easy this weekend and catch up with the blog.

I realised that although I don’t have a sweet tooth and usually I bake because I like baking more than I like eating cake, my “sweet” posts are the most popular. Is this because vegan baking is the last thing you actually master after switching diet? I think so. If I had been a vegan baker I would have been 100% vegan way earlier, the last barrier being birthday cakes and celebration foods.

So, this morning I realised that I never made banana bread before and decided to try. I googled several recipes and then decided to just make a mix to build my own recipe so that I could actually use only ingredients that were available in my kitchen and pantry without having to go out. This is what happened:

Ingredients:

Dry:

  • 140 gr self-raising flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 heaped tbs cacao powder
  • 50 gr coconut sugar (alternatively, brown sugar)
  • vanilla, freshly ground, to taste
  • a very small pinch of salt

Wet:

  • 1 medium banana, very ripe
  • 120 ml soy milk (use other vegetable alternatives if you are soy-free)
  • 1 ½ tbs sunflower oil or other neutral tasting oil

Method:

Pre-heat the oven to 180ºC. If you’re not using a grease-proof tin then you can oil it and coat it with flour or line it with grease-proof paper.

Mix the dry ingredients in a large bowl and whisk until they turn into an even powder.

In a separate bowl, mash the banana with a fork until almost pureed. add the soy milk and turn into a uniform “sauce” then add the oil and whisk well. Add the liquid ingredients to the dry ingredients straight away and mix until the batter just about comes together. It needs to be sort of lumpy, as if you were baking muffins.

Transfer the batter to the tin and place in the oven for 25-30 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

The result is a soft, moist loaf with a gentle mixture of well-combined flavours. It is ideal in the morning for breakfast or in the afternoon with a cuppa.

I hope to write again soon to update you about a project and a bean stew recipe!

2 thoughts on “Banana, Cacao and Vanilla Vegan Loaf

Leave a Reply

